I’ve hit a wall – why I stopped travelling

stopping

7 months. That’s what it took for my passion to dwindle, my energy to wear out and my body to demand I stop. 
I would never complain about the amazing life of adventure that I’m leading. It fills me with joy to wake up each day with the prospect of new explorations ahead. But behind the blog posts, Instagram pictures and stories from these amazing places is the reality of a bag that’s never unpacked, a bed that’s barely been slept in and an exhausted girl who craves stability for more than a 3 day hostel booking!

IMG_4840

The world is a big place and to explore it you face the fact that you will be spending sleepless nights on overnight buses and trains, you just start to become comfortable in a new town, learn the ropes, make friends at your hostel, then you must move on before you miss out on the next place on the list.

Before I knew it I wasn’t excited about travel anymore. I wasn’t enthusiastic about somewhere I’ve always wanted to be and I was left with a feeling of emptiness by something that I’ve always loved above all else!

It was time to stop

I booked a flight out of Bali 2 weeks earlier than planned and flew back to somewhere I knew, somewhere I could call home, my happy place and where this whole crazy journey began ~ Thailand. 

I spent 11 daysthe longest I’ve stopped anywhere on this trip – in the mountains of Pai, North Thailand. It’s a haven of delicious food, nightly markets and friendly locals. Plus a great expat community.

bday

I got an actual routine! Morning yoga, local smoothie bowls for breakfast, evening strolls at the market picking up anything with avocado on top and spending time with familiar faces.

pai3

And then it was back. The itch, the wanderlust, the world was calling.

… 11 DAYS?! I’m trying to have a break here! 

Anyway, it only took a quick chat with a local who told us about a little tiny 3 day expedition that could be done up the Mekong River to Chiang Rai before we packed our bags and were on the move again. 

We hopped on a morning bus to Mae Malai, a busy city on the outskirts of Chiang Mai. We waited at a small bus stop, snacking on some fruit from the market, until our bus rolled by. We were headed for Tha Ton, a rural mountain village on the border of Myanmar near the mouth of the Mekong where we could float down to Chiang Rai ~ our final destination.

After a night in an empty guest house we went to the boat station and paid 650 Thai baht for a private boat (plus one local who we collected on the way) to Chiang Rai.

IMG_4933

We sailed down the Mekong for almost 3 hours and my heart was bursting with love for this planet. I felt like we were in the Amazon Rainforest, surrounded by nothing but pure, untouched nature. Banana farms and rice fields surrounded us for miles and despite the downpours of rain my smile didn’t falter.

After a couple of days running around the quirky city of Chiang Rai we caught the bus back to Chiang Mai and settled for another week of rest.

white temple frontmeDSC00950DSC00990

Now? I’m back travelling solo across my favourite continent in the World. Making my way to India for the next chapter of this unbelievable journey I’m on.

Follow it all on Instagram daily! 

My travel partner filmed the whole adventure, check out his vlog here…

Youtube: Travel Vlogs  |  Facebook: Little Lottie | Twitter: @LittleLottie10  | Bloglovin:  Charlotte Little | Pinterest: Charlotte Little

11 thoughts on “I’ve hit a wall – why I stopped travelling

  1. I think we’ve all hit a wall amongst our travels in some way. Whether it’s when we’ve had enough of an area, enough of tourists, or sometimes even enough of the locals.. we as travelers are bound to become restless if things become too monotonous. And sometimes constantly traveling is monotonous. Great job on listening to yourself and bouncing back!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very well said! It’s so true, sometimes you aren’t even sure why you feel sick of it or it isn’t a certain specific just the whole crazy lifestyle. It’s great to know other travellers have felt this, I almost felt guilty for feeling it, like I was betraying my true love! Happy travels girl x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember feeling the same way when I spent 6 months in Europe. I was convinced I needed to constantly be on the move so I didn’t miss anything, but it was far better to return to a “home base” every few days just to have a sense of normalness before going back on the road again. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so right! Especially round Europe where there are so many cities and sites to see but stopping really gets your thirst going again. Happy travels, thanks for stopping by 🙂 x

      Like

  3. I absolutely love Thailand and a desperate to go back and visit Pai! I’ve never been but apparently it is so peaceful! This summer I went to India for 6 weeks and and currently in the process of writing my blog posts on it! Take a look at the two I have done so far! meganstravel.blog

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES! Such a brilliant reason to return to Thailand! Pai really is the island in the mountains, so relaxing and different. I’m about to go to India so I will definitely be checking out your posts! Thank you for your comment 🙂 glad you liked the post x

      Like

Leave a Reply

