The best guide to Yoga in Indonesia

yog

Happy International Yoga day wanderers!

Whilst travelling through Indonesia for the past 6 weeks I have discovered my passion for the art of yoga and hope that one day it will help to fund my travels around the rest of the world. With daily yoga practice I’ve tried out a fair few yoga shalas and met some truly beautiful souls along along the way.

Yoga is a huge part of the culture here in Indonesia and I’ve put together a guide for my favourite, affordable spots for all things Om and Namaste.

Bali

Canggu

Oh Canggu, where do I start. The trendiest town in Bali, home to the famous healthy cafes, smoothie bowls and plenty of choice when it comes to yoga. When I first arrived here I was practicing with a newly qualified teacher who was just starting her adventure in Bali, she was so talented and a beautiful person.

When I returned to Canggu (it became my home/base in Indonesia and I returned 3 times) I started classes at Serenity. It hosts a crazy amount of different styled classes every day and has many beautiful rooms for practice. The eco resort is wonderful and I wish I’d got the chance to stay there! I highly recommend Power Yoga with Sida, he will kick your butt. Fernando is also VERY talented and will bend you to places you didn’t think you could go. Just talking about it makes me want to return!

Image may contain: 1 person, standing and phone

(Or try out a stunning Surf and Yoga Retreat in the rice fields to make your time unforgettable) 

Image may contain: one or more people, basketball court, indoor and outdoor

Ubud

You could call Ubud the Yoga capital of Bali, of course the incredibly famous Yoga Barn is many people’s first choice but I urge you to stray away from its very large classes and try out Radiantly Alive instead. This shala is housed by the kindest teachers and they have a very good rate for unlimited weekly passes so you will leave as a pro yogi. I’ve even met couples who met during their practices here! It’s a very special place.

Uluwatu

If you’re passing by crazy Kuta and Seminyak like I did in order to reach the beautiful surf town at the far South of Bali then look no further than Yoga Searcher for a real stretch. They have plenty of classes, from Acra Yoga to an amazing sunset session which I never missed. If it’s in your budget staying here would be such an experience and the vegan food is top notch.

Amed

Hidden on the East Coast of the island in wonderful Amed is Aiona Garden of Health. Their shala has a beautiful green setting to get you into the perfect state of relaxation and peace. Rejuvenate after class in their gorgeous cafe and maybe even make one of the bungalows your home, you’ll never want to leave.

Sanur

Looking for somewhere to stay near the airport? I was concerned I wouldn’t be able to find anywhere to practice in beachy Sanur until I came across Power of Now. They hold daily classes and even free sessions through the week. This is where I am spending my International Yoga Day! The rooftop practice is so peaceful and the local teachers will ensure you leave feeling amazing.

Gili Islands

Gili Trawangan

I fell in love with The Yoga Place. Their daily sessions were beautiful, from the minute I walked into the garden cafe, stroking the cats as they longed on the pillows to the incredible nightly sunset beach yoga, this is a must before and after the parties! If you stay at La Boheme Hostel on the island like I did you can receive 20% discount on all classes.

Gili Air

Gili Air was a wonderful island experience for me, I could happily have lazed on the beaches and done yoga and nothing else for weeks! There are 2 very amazing studios on the tiny island that I alternated between. Mandalablue is a winner because of the amazing Columbian teacher there who will push you to your best poses and the beachside location. I did my first Fly High yoga class here and fell in love with the way it made my body feel. Give it a try!

Image may contain: one or more people

Image may contain: one or more people, people sitting, shoes and shorts

H2O on the other hand was a completely relaxing experience, I did a twist class here set surrounded by candles that bought tears to my eyes, (apparently I twisted out all negative energy). The mango smoothie bowl in the cafe is the breakfast of dreams and a perfect way to wake up.

Image may contain: dessert, text and food

Lombok

Kuta

Kuta Lombok is said to be the most beautiful spot on the island. The surrounding beaches and surf breaks draw in many travelers, including me. Of course priority one was to find a yoga studio and daily practice at Mana didn’t disappoint. The classes are perfect sizes and the studio is set back from the main town so it’s incredibly peaceful. Each teacher has a beautiful style and they were all so welcoming.

Senggigi

I stayed in Senggigi whilst doing my Visa Extension and had one goal, practice yoga whilst I wait! Being the so called tourist capital of the island I thought I’d have no problem but actually there are very few options here. Then I found Lombok Yoga House, probably one of the best yoga practices I’ve had in this Country. Sofia the owner, origianally from Jakarta, opened just a few days before I arrived and bought a smile to my face every day along with her nephew and fellow teacher, Micaela.

They also make incredible smoothie bowls topped with the BEST granola to help you recover from a sweaty Vinyassa or Ashtanga class. They ignited my love for Ashtanga and worked up my appetite every day.

Image may contain: food

Image may contain: one or more people, living room, table and indoor

Nusa Lembongan

Escaping busy Bali for a few days? This island is the perfect pick for relaxation and there is plenty of choice around for yoga classes of different styles to help you find your zen. Yoga Shack is the longest running studio on the island and has a beautiful bamboo hut to practice in.

Yoga Bliss was definitely my favourite spot because of their smaller classes and stunning restaurant. I had a smoothie bowl here everyday and also highly recommend the curry!

Image may contain: dessert and food

 

The Village isn’t just for yoga teacher training and host nightly classes in their rooftop shala finishing just in time to watch the sun go down to on the beach. The class wasn’t my favourite as you’re being observed by the trainee teachers but as it’s the only seaside yoga on the island it made the list.

***

Each class is priced at 100,000 rupiah for drop in sessions, half the price of what I pay at home. I’ve really enjoyed testing out studios around the islands and have made so many friends through daily practice. I urge you to try out Yoga if you come to Indonesia, otherwise you haven’t really been here!

Little Lottie.x

Follow me here for daily adventures> Instagram~ @little_charlottee

Youtube: Travel Vlogs  |  Facebook: Little Lottie | Twitter: @LittleLottie10  | Bloglovin:  Charlotte Little | Pinterest: Charlotte Little

 

 

2 thoughts on “The best guide to Yoga in Indonesia

Leave a Reply

