5 reasons I travel solo and you should too

solo-travel
Pin me

1/There’s no time like the present.

The reason I started travelling alone is because I got fed up of waiting for someone else to save the money or make the effort to come with me, (I’m talking to you friends). It might be a lot to ask someone to quit their job and follow you round the world for 12 months but I had 5 friends promise to come on my 3 week trip to Thailand. How many came? 0.

If I waited for a companion I’d still be sitting at home. 

travel
Jump on that plane! PC: Jessie Pham.

2/Get out of your shell.

0 friends joining me on the road introduced me to my love of solo travel. You’re forced to approach people and make an effort to meet as many people as possible. Would you do that if you were sitting with your girlfriends/the lads? I don’t think so. 

Wandering temples in Bangkok with travel buddies

3/Plans go out the window. 

When you travel alone the inevitable happens and you meet incredible people, probably lifetime friends, in exotic places all over the world. Let the experience sweep you off your feet, off the beaten track and right off the map! You end up exploring places you didn’t think you would because chances are, if you travel with your buddies from home everyone will have places they want to see but now your plans are completely free and open! Perfect for adventures! 

4/You discover yourself. 

That’s the most cliche thing I’ve ever said in my life but it’s also the most accurate. After making some BIG changes to my life last year and booking my flight to Thailand I finally felt like the 21 years of my life so far had come together. I’d found my passion, my purpose and lust for wandering the world.

Spending so much time with yourself and your thoughts on the road makes you think of all sorts of weird things how far you’ve come and you grow really fond of that you. The one that has adventures, tells epic stories and is brave enough to get on a flight anywhere in the world without hesitation.  

Being alone here wasn’t so bad…

5/You’re the boss. 

So once you’ve indulged in your own thoughts so much you can enjoy your own company whenever you want on your terms. Nobody to give up your precious wandering time for and nobody to dictate what you do with it. Fancy going back to that gallery again because you really enjoyed it, go for it! Want to wake up at the crack of dawn to get to the viewpoint for sunrise, why not?! Follow your heart, never look back and put yourself first. You will never get this time back so make the memories your own! 

Being alone doesn’t mean being lonely. Me in Ayutthaya.

 ***

Do you prefer to travel solo? Where did you last explore on your own? 

**I want to apologise in advance if the next few blog posts are a little of time to the usual weekly awesomeness on Sunday & Tuesday. I’m on the road around Europe for the next 3 weeks (solo might I add) but you can keep up with my travels everyday here>   Instagram: @little_charlottee | YouTube: Charlotte Little | Facebook: Little Lottie | Twitter: @LittleLottie10  | Bloglovin:  Charlotte Little | Pinterest: Charlotte Little

Happy travels!

Little Lottie.xo

8 thoughts on “5 reasons I travel solo and you should too

  1. After being a solar traveller for the first time at the beginning of the year I will only ever travel solo now! It’s the best feeling ever, I find it’s much easier to meet people when you travel alone and I love the independence doing what you want when you want! Going away over Christmas on my own and I cannot wait!!!

    Like

    1. Yay! So glad you’ve discovered it. I just returned from 3 weeks around Europe solo and making loads of new friends is the best part 🙂 It’s so easy to wake up and head out whenever you want, the freedom is so liberating! Glad you love it, thank you for reading the post. Where are you going next? X

      Liked by 1 person

  2. They are the best places in the world to be for Christmas! You probably already gathered my love for Thailand after all my posts about it. India looks so amazing, I’d also love to go but am reluctant to go alone. Fingers crossed we make it there some day soon! In the New Year I am spending 12 months in Asia, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia, The Philippines, Bali and Indonesia and wherever else life takes me 🙂 X

    Like

Leave a Reply

