Is it safe to travel the world right now?

Safety

It would be wrong of me as a travel blogger to continue happily firing out posts filled with gorgeous shots of mountains or beaches and not assess the undeniable elephant in the room… is it actually safe to travel the world right now?

There have been some incredibly unfortunate incidents around the globe lately affecting travelers in multiple countries. The bombings in Thailand, a country otherwise known as ‘The Land of Smiles’ or the backpackers murdered without reason in Australia and the devastating earthquake in Italy. Not to mention the terror attacks affecting France, Turkey, Egypt, Tunisia and many more middle eastern countries.

What never fails to break my heart is the news here in the UK bringing up how my ‘British people’ were killed during these incidents. What about the peaceful Buddhists and locals of the Thai islands, the European children and families going about their daily lives only to have life as they know it destroyed or ripped away by these awful acts of violence?

So despite the thousands of locals being affected by the recent cases of destruction, is it safe for you to explore their home countries, or even go to the airport, board the plane, step outside your comfort zone?!

travel

The answer is yours to choose. I hear too many concerned voices say…

‘But Charlotte, you already have a one way ticket to Thailand booked and are leaving the safety of home in 18 weeks for 12 months of adventure around the globe.. What are you going to do now?’ 

I’m not going to cower from the ‘what-ifs’ or ‘just in case’ situations. How else could we let these monsters affect our lives anymore than they have already, by holding us back from our dreams and aspirations, stripping us of faith and love. HELL NO!

My heart still belongs to the world, no matter how ugly it gets.

I want to be a traveler who helps, who spreads happiness with a smile and respects the locals wherever I leave my footprints. I want to get to know the families around me. Make friends with the 711 owner, local fruit vendor and play games with the children who spend their evenings on the same shores as me.

Unite, put your middle finger up to those who try to steal your happiness and soldier through the hard times we’ve been dealt. It’s a statement that’s easy for me to say as I’m not in danger but please remember those who need reminding and spread positivity during the hard times.

My heart goes out to each and every person affected by the tragedies around the world and wherever you are, be safe, show compassion and spread the love.

Safe Travels my friends.

Little Lottie.xo

Keep up with my adventures around the globe here>   Instagram: @little_charlottee | YouTube: Charlotte Little | Facebook: Little Lottie | Twitter: @LittleLottie10  | Bloglovin:  Charlotte Little | Pinterest: Charlotte Little |

2 thoughts on “Is it safe to travel the world right now?

Leave a Reply

