Should you make travel plans?

THE BEST VIEW

It saddens me to accept that there is no way in my 12 months away that I will be able to see everywhere I want to explore on this beautiful planet. Therefore strategic planning and careful selection has become a skill of mine that I’m sure will go out the window when I land in Chiang Mai and get swept off to a location I never thought I’d visit by new friends donned in backpacks. That’s all part of travelling alone and an adventurous thought that I’m excited about.

Printable Wedding Sign And so the adventure by MishmashofLove:
Source: Pinterest

 

After all travelling solo is all about meeting new people and going with the flow so when friends ask me (which they always do), ‘how are your plans going’ I answer, ‘I’m not really making any…’ However the mind wanders and my fingers walk across the maps dreaming of where I will end up.

I have the first 6 months scribbled across the pages of my notebook…

  1. North Thailand
  2. Laos
  3. Vietnam
  4. Cambodia
  5. The Philippines
  6. Bali + Lombok and the Gili islands

The typical backpacker would take the short leap from Bali to Australia but my trip is about escaping the norm, freeing myself from western life and discovering a new culture. Asia is full of beauty, from the history, architecture and people, everything about it draws me in. Not to mention the smooth sands of the perfectly stunning islands lying off the shores of each country.

So should I follow the regular path? Will I meet an abundance of buddies in Bali excited to take on the outback and regret it if I get left behind?

Source: Monge Quentin.:
Source: Pinterest

Oz is a wonderful place I’m sure but when searching for something far from western civilisation and office life should I jump on a flight to the furthest point from home full of bustling cities and far from the chilled out bars on the shores of the Thai islands where I felt I belonged?

Probably not.

Am i writing it off? Absolutely not.

The beauty of travel is spontaneity. Getting swept off your feet by the world and its wonders. When you land in paradise and meet the free souls who you will never want to part from you may regret booking that bus in the opposite direction a few months before you set off. Plans are made to be broken.

Source: Pinterest

My heart is saying New Zealand could be my final destination. Camping under the stars, chasing waterfalls,  surfing empty beaches and climbing snowy tipped hills pretty much sounds like heaven to this wild heart.

Scenery New Zealand Milford Sound:
Gorgeous New Zealand. Source: Pinterest

***

Are you a planner or do you go with the flow? Should I book a ticket to New Zealand? have you visited anywhere on my list?

Don’t forget to press subscribe to hear where I end up. Watch my travels here. 

Little Lottie.xo

Instagram: @little_charlottee | YouTube: Charlotte Little | Facebook: Little Lottie | Twitter: @LittleLottie10  | Bloglovin:  Charlotte Little | Pinterest: Charlotte Little |

 

3 thoughts on “Should you make travel plans?

  1. I think it’s important to plan before going BUT break out of all your plans when you travel. Your plan seems amazing and all the countries interesting. I hope you will get to visit many lovely places 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

