Lottie + Mallorca – Exploring the Balearic shores

1

Crystal shorelines, sunset strolls, secret beaches and underwater caves. Who knew the resort filled Balearic Island of Mallorca (Majorca to the American readers out there) could hold such beauty.

IMG_4977

My latest island escape was far from the remote beaches of Southeast Asia and somewhere much closer to home. Just off the coast of Spain, floating on the warm blue Mediterranean waters my little family and I set off to take on the magnificent gem  of Mallorca, host to many Brits looking to escape normality for a week of relaxation. And that’s just what we did…

CAMERA

IMG_9117

CAMERA
I made the most of the warmer oceans
CAMERA
I was enjoying beachlife

As the lights go down this little treasure comes to life and not just on the strips of Magaluf, and no, I didn’t venture to the party capital whilst on the island. During the evenings the locals put on their trainers and jog along the beach promenades and soft sandy shores or slip on their dresses and red lipstick to walk with their families with a dreamy backdrop.

IMG_4965
Views to kill

Despite being neighbours I often neglect Europe when thinking of warm palmy escapes but Mallorca delivered, plus a few extra treats which I didn’t expect. Yes the stores might be filled with cheesy souvenirs and fake designer bags, the tourists might have questionable tan lines and never take to a sunbed without a large Bacardi and Coke to accompany them but if you dig a bit deeper the island is filled with beautiful nature filled corners. 

IMG_9211

I stayed in the lovely Sa Coma, about an hour from the Island’s capital city Plama, the area was very family orientated and great for our adventure as we were joined by my 1 year old niece who loved the entire trip.

When we weren’t splashing around in the pool or dozing off on the sunbeds we were at Sa Coma beach. The beach was a beauty and although overrun with deck chairs and sun shades, there was one end protected by a nature reserve and a close by hike up to the local Castle.

IMG_9169IMG_9171IMG_9167

The highlight of the trip was taking to the seas for a coastal tour around the stunning blue coast to check out the surrounding bays and famous ‘pirate’ caves. It also gave me the opportunity to jump off the boat into the turquoise waters and splash around like a mermaid (because we all know that’s what I really am).

IMG_4978IMG_4968

IMG_9199IMG_9208

There’s more to this island than tourists and towering hotels. It’s beautiful Volcanic coasts, tall palms and hidden bays give it the infamous name it deserves and although I’ve left this style of seeing the world behind I am grateful to have explored somewhere new with my beautiful family before we go down our own paths next year.

For now it’s back to reality until my next flight ships me on my biggest adventure yet in 183 days.

IMG_9153

Follow me on Instagram to see more of my island ventures.

Watch my vlog from the trip here!

Have you been to Mallorca or a Balearic Island before?

Little Lottie.xo

Follow me here to keep up with the adventures> Facebook: Little Lottie | Twitter: @LittleLottie10  | Instagram: @little_charlottee  | Bloglovin:  Charlotte Little | Pinterest: Charlotte Little | YouTube: Charlotte Little

One thought on “Lottie + Mallorca – Exploring the Balearic shores

Leave a Reply

