How travel ruined my realtionship

Relationship issues

Never did I think I’d be writing a post about travel ruining anything… seeing the world is my dream, my passion, my love and often my priority.

About 1 year ago I wrote this post explaining why I ended my 5 year relationship with my childhood sweetheart. Since then I’ve visited 3 countries and changed my life forever by planning a backpacking adventure that could take me anywhere, starting with a 1 way ticket to paradise 6 months from now.

Of course I had to take the initial leap and leave the old me behind to accomplish all this  and realise that settling down with a house, a husband and a cat just isn’t for me…. well, all except for the cat part!

During those happy 5 years I visited 6 countries… without him. I would return buzzing with stories and photos which I’d put on a big screen and tell the story behind them. From cruises up the river Nile (read my Egypt post here), pictures on top of El Djem amphitheater in Africa or exploring beautiful cities like Barcelona, I was changing already and couldn’t understand the lack of passion on his side.

Karnak egypt
A photo I took at Karnak temple in Luxor, Egypt. The scale of it was unbelievable.

The world stole my heart with its endless beauty, possibilities and wildness. Can any man ever match it?

Whilst spending time apart from your other half is very healthy and there are plenty of us independent female travelers out there in relationships, the travel bug is relentless and my wanderlust is thirsty for adventure. If you aren’t with someone that feels the same way it’s challenging to keep the fire lit. So I ran wild, went to Thailand, booked the one way ticket and never looked back.

Bottle beach swing

So here we are 1 year on, you’re still reading and I’m still writing. I will always be planning my adventures across the world. Solo… for now.

Do you have a travel partner or prefer flying solo?… literally.

Little Lottie.xo

11 thoughts on “How travel ruined my realtionship

    1. Awh Natalie! Your comment has made my day. I’m so glad you both worked it out and can adventure together. Hopefully one day I will meet someone as passionate about the world as I am. I’m super happy you liked the post, I hope many people can relate to it. Happy explorations! x

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Don’t blame yourself you need to find the perfect person to travel with that is your love! I have written allot about my own experience with breaking up so check out my blog hope it comes in handy and you enjoy it x0x0 DD

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your comment! It’s unfortunate that our passions went in separate directions but I’ve never regretted the decision and am so excited about my future adventures, maybe I will find love on the road 🙂 I will definitely check it out, thank you x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. While my boyfriend of many years loves traveling, he says he probably will never do a long-term (1 month + ) travel. It’s okay with me because I don’t feel passionate about long travel anymore. We both work full-time and travel as much as we can on our free days and weekends etc! Good for you that you did what makes you happy, and I am sorry your long-term relationship had to end.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s so sweet of you to say Pooja, I really appreciate your support on my blog. I’m really happy it worked out for you, your relationship will be full of adventure because you are in the same place in life right now. Unfortunately it wasn’t the same for me but I am so happy it worked out that way so that I can have all these adventures now. Safe travels x

    Like

Leave a Reply

