Healthy 5 ingredient chocolate torte

strawberry torte

To say I have a sweet tooth would be a bit of an understatement. Now I’ve quit dairy it’s a lot easier to stay in shape because I skip the usual fatty chocolate desserts I used to scoff down in one. After a brunch visit to one of my favourite local health cafes (Archie Browns) I discovered the lushest raw vegan chocolate torte I’d ever had (it may have been the first one I’d ever tried but will take a lot to beat).

vegan chocolate torte

Being a true vegan nerd I asked them what was in it and had a go at re-creating one myself. Well, you can call me chef from now on because I’m pretty sure I’ve cracked the recipe!  Give it a go yourself and enjoy this guilt free dessert with amazing health benefits.

The magic ingredients 

240g of pitted dates

2 large hanfulls of nuts – cashews and walnuts work really well

2 ripe avocados – mashed

1 heaped tablespoon of raw cacao powder

3 teaspoons of sweetener – honey, maple syrup or fruit syrup  

Bish. Bash. Bosh…

1// Cut your dates and nuts (not your date’s nuts, I don’t promote violence) into small pieces and add to a food processor to combine – I used a high power blender but cut everything up first to make it’s life easier because I’m kind to my cheap electrical appliances 🙂 

torte base

2// Once combined to your satisfaction spoon the date/nut mixture into your cake tin/ramekins – I like the individual tortes because they’re cute – and firmly press to the bottom to form your base

torte bases

3// Pit your ripe avocados and mash with a fork or food processor until smooth & creamy

4// Add your green avocado mush to a blender/food processor blitz with the all important cacao powder and sweetener until it turns into your delicious chocolate mousse topping

chocolate topping

5// Spoon this onto the top of your date base and store in the fridge – best eaten fresh but I wouldn’t leave them more than 4 days. You are bound to devour them before then anyway! 

blueberry torte

strawberry torte

DONE! 

You’re welcome. No green pudding failures needed.

Let me know if you try making this yummy torte in the comments. Have you made a dessert with any green ingredients before?

Little Lottie. xo

5 thoughts on “Healthy 5 ingredient chocolate torte

    1. I’m definitely with you on that… might have eaten all 4 in 2 days! Dates are sooo great if you’ve got a sweet tooth, especially smothered in chocolate 🙂 I hope you love it as much as I do x

      Like

Leave a Reply

