Changing my life…

changing

In my last post I dropped the ‘small’ bombshell that I will be travelling the world next year! Ecstatic just isn’t a good enough word to describe how I feel about my upcoming adventure. So just under 1 year on from my last life update post I thought it was time to address how I’m changing my life.

koh tao beach
Koh Tao, Thailand

It all started when I was 14 and went to China for 3 weeks. Since then the travel bug has had me in it’s grasp and I’ve been lucky enough to explore 8 more countries. My most recent 3 week travel around Thailand is really what made me question where I’m going with my life. Why am I sitting in an office everyday? What’s keeping me in the small town I call home? What am I waiting for?

holidays
Great Wall of China, El Jem in Tunisia, Salou in Spain, Icmeler in Turkey, Paphos in Cyprus, Makadi Bay in Egypt

This time last year I was engaged and looking for a house with my long term boyfriend. I thought having a home, a career and going on trips every now and then was what I wanted. Because that’s just what people do… Then I woke up. One day I realised I wasn’t happy and I knew why, I’m not that person I was trying to be. I had to end my relationship and go for the things I really want in life. Now I’ve got my mojo back.

Seeing the world has always been my ambition in life but I thought holidaying for a few weeks at a time would fulfill that, the truth is it was never long enough. Staying stationary isn’t satisfying my thirst to see more. I have a serious case of wanderlust. Leaving Thailand was MUCH harder than leaving home ever was. It felt downright wrong, depressing and I knew I had to go back.

bottle beach thailand
Bottle Beach, North Koh Phangan, Thailand

So all that money which almost turned into a brick house is going towards something nobody can ever put a price tag on, it’s buying me my life goal, a new adventure, beautiful memories and hopefully lifelong friends.

Because a pile of bricks and a ring on my finger isn’t happiness to me. Feeling the sand between my toes, getting salt in my hair, being kissed by the sun, witnessing bright orange sunsets, exploring ancient ruins and sharing memories with the best people to walk this earth is my happiness. I will be ditching the 9-5 for paradise at the end of the year and it’s going to be great, life changing probably.

Ayutthaya pagoda
Ayutthaya, Thailand

So what’s on the agenda? I like the feeling of freedom, following a path unknown and seeing where life will take me (which is ironic seeing as I used to suffer with anxiety…)

map

My rough route will land me right back where I left off, I have unfinished explorations in beautiful Thailand. I’m ready to trek the jungles of the North and discover the hidden waterfalls of Chiang Mai. I’m excited to visit Thailand’s incredible neighbors; Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam but one of the most exciting destinations on my route (and also number 1 on my bucket list) is the Philippines. Slightly off the beaten track but well worth the trek, the phenomenal islands and gentle locals will be a welcome experience, I have a feeling I wont want to leave there too quickly but I will be heading to the legendary Lombok and Bali for a different paradise. Then the road is undecided, I’m thinking South America but have limited know how in this area. The world is my oyster… 

***

If you have any recommendations let me know in the comments! Where has your favourite trip been? Have you travelled long term before?

Little Lottie.xo

Experience Thailand like I did with TruTravels, an amazing company that can kick start your adventure with incredible experiences. A tour is a great way to meet people and you can book get an awesome discount using code TRULM7.

8 thoughts on “Changing my life…

  1. Good luck with your adventures. Everyone has different ideas of happiness, and while mine is more career and family focussed for now, I so believe you should follow your heart and that looks exactly like what you’re doing, so that’s awesome 🙂 I was in Koh Samui over Christmas and it was beautiful- the weather and food was great!
    https://advicefromblog.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Hi Soph! I totally know what you mean and definitely have been career and family focused up until now. It’s funny how we change so much over the years! Thank you for reading, Thailand is so gorgeous! If you head back that way I highly recommend Koh Tao, it’s very laid back in comparison to Koh Samui. I bet it was lovely over Christmas. Thai food is the bomb! X

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks so much for that reccomendation! I love laid back so that’s perfect. And OMG the food… THE BEST! Enjoy your travels girl 🙂

        Like

  2. Lovely blog. I was in Koh Tao last month just for a couple of days and it was amazing, especially that island Nangyuan in the north! Amazing!

    Aleks
    silencio1984blog.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

