Fancy a cuppa? – My tea routine

PicMonkey Collage

Before you think I’m a complete nutter for writing a tea routine, I swear I wouldn’t share anything that wasn’t worthwhile. Plus, I’m not promoting fit teas here, I’m talking proper, herbal goodness.

I used to be a caffeine addict, relying on coffee to get me up in the morning. Before starting work I would religiously visit Cafe Nero and pick up a Frappe Latte, with extra cream and chocolate sprinkles. Now I’m a vegan that drinks 3 liters of water and green tea every day. Miracles happen…

So kick the caffeine and feel much fresher with some of the yummy herbal teas on the market today. I promise you will get through the grief of saying goodbye to coffee and you wont have to deal with afternoon slump, or worse, the coffee shakes.

FullSizeRender

7.30am

After a good 30-40 minute workout I tuck into a huge bowl of oatmeal, topped with fruit. it’s so energising and tasty that you won’t even miss your cappuccino! To help all the carbs go down and avoid any bloating peppermint tea is the bomb. I devote my awesome digestive system to this stuff! Peppermint is an anti-inflammatory so is great for skin and stomachs. I have a large cup after any meal and never feel overly full or bloated.

10am

The secret stash of Lemon Green Tea in my desk drawer at work is an essential to get me through the day. I usually turn to it if I start to feel peckish or to accompany a mid-morning Nakd bar. Green tea is great for balancing female hormones and de-stressing. Not to mention it’s packed with antioxidants that are great for skin and weight management.

6pm

After a hearty dinner I tuck into another large mug of peppermint or spearmint tea. Spearmint is great for hormonal imbalance which I’ve suffered with since ditching the contraceptive pill, and it’s much healthier than an After Eight. It tastes a lot stronger than peppermint and smells a lot like chewing gum. You will see what I mean if you try it. I personally prefer peppermint for digestive purposes as it keeps away the dreaded food baby.

IMG_0359

9.30pm

The most recent addition to my tea routine is Camomile Tea. It’s never appealed to me before but the taste is surprisingly sweet. It is great for aiding sleep and is an anti-inflammatory and anti-septic so has great skin benefits. I drink a cup full before bed to help me switch off. My anxiety doesn’t bother me half as much as it used to but I do tend to think about EVERYTHING when my head hits the pillow and a calming mug of this sweet tea is a great addition to any night time routine if you don’t have time for yoga.

tea

Herbal teas don’t all taste like freshly cut grass and there are so many varieties out there to try that can help with tons of issues.

What is your favourite beverage? Recommend any healthy teas below.

Little Lottie.xo

8 thoughts on “Fancy a cuppa? – My tea routine

  1. Hi, I enjoyed reading your post and love your cups. I am tea lover, but have being trying to reduce my caffeine intake. I drink a lot of mint teas and keep trying new varieties. I am also having more camomile tea before bed, and am currently working my way through Twining’s at the moment, Chloe.
    http://pinkiebag.com/

    Like

    1. YES Rory! So good to hear that you’re interested and I am too! How else would we find out about the amazing tasting teas out there?! I recently had spirulina tea which was super tasty! Black tea is still MUCH better for you than a massive cappuccino or milky concoction. x

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly, what better way to learn about a certain tea than from someone who’s already tried it?
        Spirulina? I can’t say I’ve even come across that before, I’ll have to give it a try!
        That’s true, far less calorific!

        Like

  2. I love this post! Herbal teas are something I have always loved but I found it so interesting reading about when you drink them/for what benefits, as I’ve never thought too far into it. Definitely intrigued by the hormone balancing properties, as this is something I need to adress in my daily routine.I also love lemon & ginger tea, especially for when I’m feeling a little bit under the weather. Xx

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you loved it. I was never aware of the timings benefit until a few months ago and I have to say it’s helped me so much. Definitely upped my tea game 🙂 See if you notice a difference by changing it up. Lemon and ginger sounds great! Must be really energizing too. Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

