August Food Favourites!

foodie

So we’re saying goodbye to August 2015 and as winter inches closer and closer I’ve been switching up my meals to hit the right spot and keep me comforted during the rainy days that have arrived. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good bowl of nice cream but don’t fancy diving into my freezer in search of bags of bananas first thing on a chilly morning.

image8

Kicking off my day with a big bowl of porridge has been a particular favourite of mine lately, it fills me up for hours and is just what I need after a morning workout. To turn up the comfort level and add some nutritious flavour to my oats I’ve been turning them into bowls of chocolate and banana heaven… the vegan way of course.

  1. Add your oats to a large bowl – I buy gluten free oats to avoid feeling bloated and usually start with 6 heaped tablespoonsIMG_6524
  2. Add a dash of pant milk (almond or coconut is a delicious partner for oats) and then top up with water until the oats are coveredimage2
  3. Microwave for around a minute or boil on the hob until the oats have absorbed most of the water but are still creamy
  4. Stir in a tablespoon of coconut oil for added flavour and creaminessimage3
  5. Mix in a tablespoon of ground flaxseed for a skin glowing, omega 3 boostimage4
  6. To turn the oats chocolatey add 2 tablespoons of raw cacao powder and stir until it’s all mixed inimage5
  7. Top with your favourite fruit and condiments – my go to is blueberries + always banana with some Sweet Freedom Choc Shots for extra sweetnessimage7

Fruit can be expensive and tasteless during the winter months so I’ve been swapping out my raw lunches for a delicious alternative. Rye bread is a new obsession of mine and is just divine when toasted and topped with veggie goodness. My perfect combination has been slathering the toast in humus or organic tomato sauce and crowning with tomatoes and plenty of spinach. Finish with some lemon, pepper or sweet chilli for an extra kick.

IMG_6461

Find delicious rye bread here – click me for toasty heaven.

My favourite tomato sauce lives here.

IMG_6534

Sweet potato has become my staple dinner time veggie fix. It’s such a great base for so many meals like stew, curry and soup. Enjoy the spuds cut into fries and dunked in yummy guacamole, mashed and topped with veg or steamed as a side.

This month I’ve been using it to carb up my bean stew and soak up the yummy tomato passata, get my recipe here.

It was particularly tasty in curry with coconut milk, cashews, spinach and tofu. Sweet potato is cheap to buy and quick to cook and that’s exactly what I want after a long day at the office.

image9

 What’s your food favourite this month?

Little Lottie. xo

One thought on “August Food Favourites!

Leave a Reply

